Voting from abroad

You can vote from abroad or on Svalbard and Jan Mayen from 1 July.


Voters who are resident abroad or otherwise out of the country may vote in advance at foreign service missions or appointed returning officers. The same rules apply on Svalbard and Jan Mayen Island that apply for voting abroad.

Where can I vote?

You can vote in advance at most Norwegian foreign service missions. That means at embassies, consulates general and consulates, and at returning officers appointed by the Governor of Svalbard or the Norwegian Directorate of Elections. More information about this will be provided later.

See where you can vote abroad.

Voters who are abroad and cannot get to a returning officer can send their vote to their home municipality in Norway themselves by post, so-called postal voting.

When is the deadline for voting?

The final day for voting in advance from abroad is 3 September, while on Svalbard and Jan Mayen it is 10 September.

Voters are themselves responsible for ensuring that they vote early enough for the vote to reach the right municipality by no later than 17:00 on the day after election day in order for their vote to be counted. Election day is 13 September. Remember therefore to vote early enough for your vote to arrive in time by regular post.

Polling cards are not used for advance voting abroad. The only thing you need to bring with you is your ID.